Delaware DUI First Offender Program
Delaware DUI First Offender Program
If you are arrested for DUI in Kent or Sussex County, Delaware and it is your first time being charged with Driving Under the Influence you may be eligible for Delaware’s First Offender program.
Unfortunately, just one too many drinks at dinner or happy hour can place you over the legal Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) limit. Drinking and driving are a very serious matter in the state of Delaware.
However, the Delaware legal system realizes that you may have made a one time mistake and had a lapse in judgment. With that, Delaware offers a First Offender Program.
For those who are eligible, Delaware’s First Offender Program is designed to ease the legal, financial and administrative burden of getting charged with Driving Under the Influence in Delaware.
Georgetown, Delaware Drunk Driving Defense Lawyers MurrayPhillips proudly serve those charged with Driving Under the Influence in Kent County and Sussex County, Delaware. Regardless of whether it is your first offense or subsequent offense we will do our best to obtain you a very favorable outcome, protect your rights and your driving privileges. Please call us at 302-855-9300. You may also email us.
Eligibility Requirements For Delaware’s First Time Offender Program
The eligibility criteria for Delaware’s First Offender Program are below:
1. You have never been convicted of a DUI
2. You have not received more than 3 traffic or moving violations within 24 months of the DUI
3. If your DUI involved an automobile accident no one was hurt, injured or killed
4. Your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) was less than .15%
5. Your driver’s license was valid and not suspended or revoked at time of DUI
6. You did not have anyone under age 17 in your car at time of DUI
Even if all of these qualifying factors are not met, a skilled and experienced Delaware DUI Lawyer may be able to have the Attorney General waive a disqualifying factor. This will potentially allow you to enroll in the Delaware First Time DUI Offender Program.
Benefits Of Delaware’s First Time DUI Offender Program
Numerous benefits are associated with applying for and being enrolled in the First Offender Program in Delaware. If you are accepted, and successfully complete the program a DUI conviction will not blemish your record. You will not face any jail time or fines.
You may be placed on probation by the courts, however, depending on several factors such as your criminal record prior to the DUI. You will be eligible to apply for a work permit 90 days after your driver’s license suspension started provided you did not refuse the breathalyzer test or field sobriety tests. This is true despite your driving privileges being restricted for a period of 1 year.
Upon successfully completing your DUI class you may apply for full reinstatement of your driving privileges after 6 months. A skilled Sussex County, Delaware DUI Defense Lawyer can help answer any other questions you may have pertaining to Delaware’s First Time DUI Offender program.
Call Georgetown, Delaware DUI Lawyers
If you have been charged with a DUI in Delaware and it is your first offense please call Delaware DUI Defense Lawyers MurrayPhillips. Our office number is 302-855-9300. We can be reached via email by clicking here.
With over 16 years experience defending those charged with DUI in Delaware, we understand good people sometimes make poor decisions. With this in mind, we will help you decide if Delaware’s First Time DUI Offender program is right for you. Call us today regarding protecting your rights, your reputation, and your driving privileges.