Consequences of a DUI in Delaware

The cost of a DUI in Delaware always varies depending on your case. The following estimates are just to give you an idea of how much it could cost you if you were to get a DUI charge or even multiple DUI charges in Delaware.

  1. The First DUI Charge in Delaware

      • Your first DUI charge in the state of Delaware can get you an estimated max jail time of 6 months.
      • You can have fines and penalties ranging from $500 – $1500 depending on the conditions of your charges.
      • Your license suspension can range from 12 to 24 months depending on the conditions of your charges.
      • You will receive an IID (Ignition Interlock Device).

  2. The Second DUI Charge in Delaware

      • Your second DUI charge can cost you an estimated jail time of 2 – 18 months.
      • You can have fines and penalties ranging from $750 – $2500.
      • Your license can be suspended for 24 – 30 months.
      • An IID (Ignition Interlock Device) may possibly be given after 24 months.

  3. The Third DUI Charge in Delaware

      • You will be looking at jail time between 1 – 2 years.
      • Your fines and penalties may add up to $1500 – $5000.
      • Your license suspension will be between 24 – 36 months.
      • The possibility of an IID (Ignition Interlock Device) after the first 24 months.

  4. The Fourth DUI Charge in Delaware

      • You will be charged with jail time between 2 – 5 years.
      • Your fines and penalties will range from $3000 – $7000.
      • License suspension for 60 months.
      • An IID (Ignition Interlock Device) may be required after 48 months.

  5. The Fifth DUI Charge in Delaware

      • You will be guilty of a class E felony.
      • You will be fined no less than $3500 and no more than $10000.
      • You will be in jail for no less than 3 years and no more than 5 years.

  6. The Sixth DUI Charge in Delaware

      • You will be guilty of a class D felony.
      • You will be fined no less than $5000 and no more than $10000.
      • You will be in jail for no less than 5 years and no more than 10 years.

  7. The Seventh DUI Charge in Delaware.

      • You will be guilty of a class C felony.
      • You will be fined no less than $10000 and no more than $15000.
      • You will be in jail for no less than 10 years and no more than 15 years.

 

How much alcohol do you need to consume to get a DUI in Delaware?

    • Under the age of 21 = 0.02%
    • 21 or older = 0.08%
    • Commercial DUI = 0.04%

What happens if you refuse a chemical test in Delaware?

    • You will be automatically fined and your license will be suspended for one year (2 years if under the age of 21)
    • If a second offense occurs, you will be fined again and your license will be suspended for 18 months.
    • Every other offense after the second offense, your driver’s license gets suspended for 24 months.

HandcuffsIf you have any questions on the information provided please feel free to contact us.

logo

Criminal Defense Lawyer Serving Delaware

 Bethany Beach, DE  Seaford, DE
 Camden, DE  Harrington, DE  Smyrna, DE
 Dagsboro, DE  Laurel, DE  Sussex County, DE
 Delmar, DE  Lewes, DE  
 Dewey, DE  Milford, DE  
 Dover, DE  Millsboro, DE  
 Fenwick Island, DE Rehoboth Beach, DE  

DUI Attorney Delaware

 Bethany Beach, DE  Georgetown, DE  Seaford, DE
 Camden, DE  Harrington, DE  Smyrna, DE
 Dagsboro, DE  Laurel, DE  Sussex County, DE
 Delmar, DE  Lewes, DE  
 Dewey, DE  Milford, DE  
 Dover, DE  Millsboro, DE  
 Fenwick Island, DE  Rehoboth Beach, DE  

Real Estate Attorney Serving Delaware

Bethany Beach, DE Rehoboth Beach, DE  Sussex County, DE
 Camden, DE  Harrington, DE  Smyrna, DE
 Dagsboro, DE  Laurel, DE
 Delmar, DE  Lewes, DE
 Dewey, DE  Milford, DE
 Dover, DE  Millsboro, DE
 Fenwick Island, DE  Seaford, DE  
Georgetown, DE