Driving with a Suspended License
It is illegal to drive or operate a motor vehicle if your driver’s license is suspended or revoked in the state of Delaware. Typically, a suspension of driving privileges stems from unresolved traffic violations or repeat traffic or moving violations.
If you have been caught driving with a suspended license, you may face severe fines, an extended license suspension and possible jail time. It is important to work with an experienced attorney to minimize the impact.
At The Law Offices of Murray, Phillips & Gay, we have more than 20 years of experience helping people deal with traffic charges. We will do everything we can to get a favorable outcome for you.
To arrange a free consultation with a Georgetown driver’s license suspension attorney, please 302-855-9300 or contact the law firm online.
Possible Reasons for License Suspension in DE
There are several reasons that the Department of Motor Vehicles may suspend your license, including:
- Repeat traffic violations
- Unpaid traffic tickets
- Driving under the influence (DUI)
- Multiple DUI offenses
- Driving without insurance
- Fleeing the scene of an accident
Consequences of Driving With a Suspended License
The first conviction for driving with a suspended license carries a minimum fine of $500. It also carries a jail term ranging from 30 days to six months. However, an experienced lawyer can achieve a suspended jail term. A second offense within three years carries a minimum fine of $1,000 and a 60-day mandatory jail sentence.
A conviction can impact your life on several levels. Traveling to work, school and other destinations become difficult, putting your job or education in jeopardy. Have the right lawyer on your side to ensure protected rights every step of the way.
Contact Delaware Driver’s License Suspension Attorney
To schedule a free initial consultation to discuss your specific situation and legal needs, call us at 302-855-9300 or contact us online.