Delaware DMV Point System
The state of Delaware along with the Department of Motor Vehicles has a safety initiative called The Problem Driver Improvement Program. The purpose of the program is to identify problem drivers and change their driving habits and behaviors. Using points, the DMV tracks negative driving behaviors.
The program penalizes bad driving while rewarding good habits. There are opportunities to restore a tarnished record overtime and good drivers can avoid bad marks on their license easily. The program’s goal is to improve Delaware highway, road, and interstate safety.
If you have been charged with traffic violations such as speeding, reckless driving, aggressive driving or passing a stopped school bus, you need to call a Georgetown Delaware Traffic Ticket Attorney. Call the Law Offices of Murray, Phillips & Gay at 302-855-9300 to discuss protecting your driving privileges. You may also email us here.
How DMV Points Work in DE
For each traffic violation you receive or traffic ticket you plead guilty to, the DMV punishes you with points against your Delaware drivers license. After 8 points, the DMV sends you an advisory letter. These demerits on your license allow the DMV to track how many (and the severity of the) moving violations you have. More serious charges result in more marks on your record.
As you accumulate points, you may be required to complete a driving behavior modification program or have a suspension of driving privileges ranging from 4 months up to 12 months. A Sussex County Traffic Offense Lawyer will explain all possible options to you so that you can make the most informed decision possible.
How many points can you get on your license?
The Delaware DMV system mandates different amounts of points be applied towards your total depending on the violation you were charged with. Penalties range from 2 points for a simple violation, such as speeding, up to 6 for reckless driving or aggressive driving in Delaware.
The accumulation of 14 points will earn you a mandatory 4-month license suspension. For every 2 marks that you accumulate after that, you earn an additional 2 months license suspension. A skilled and experienced Georgetown Delaware Traffic Offense Attorney will fight for you. We aim for the minimum amount of marks applied to your license to protect your driving privileges.
How long do points stay on your license in DE?
A speeding violation of 1-14 MPH over the posted speed limit will not be assessed points if you qualify. To qualify, you must meet 2 criteria. It is the first violation within any 3 year period AND the ticket is reconciled through the Voluntary Assessment Center. Ensure to follow all steps to qualify for this program. Contact an experienced lawyer to be sure that you qualify.
You can earn 3 credits if you complete an approved defensive driving course within 3 years of the violation. The course typically takes 1-6 hours. Your car insurance provider may provide a credit on your account for completing a defensive driving course. Insurance providers may provide this credit with or without a moving violation on your record.
Points on your license do expire. After 12 months from the date of conviction, the DMV credits points at one-half value. Meaning, if you received 6 points, after 12 months they downgrade to 3.
However, not all points expire and may remain on your record forever. These usually result from serious convictions and may raise your auto insurance rates.
Let A Sussex County Traffic Violation Lawyer Help You
With more than 20 years of experience handling traffic offenses and moving violations in Sussex County, Delaware the attorneys in the Law Offices of Murray, Phillips & Gay understand the law to a great degree. They use that knowledge to obtain the best possible outcome. Call the Law Offices of Murray, Phillips & Gay at 302-855-9300. Or, email us here.
The Law Offices of Murray, Phillips & Gay proudly serves those charged with traffic violations throughout Kent County, Delaware, and Sussex County Delaware.