Multiple DUI Offenses
Sussex County Multiple DUI Defense Lawyer
Being charged with, and convicted of, a DUI in Delaware is a very serious matter. A DUI conviction can impact your livelihood, your employment, and your personal life. Additionally, legal & financial penalties, consequences, and repercussions for a first-time DUI conviction or guilty plea can include license suspension, possible jail time, as well as fines, court costs, and legal fees.
Delaware acknowledges that a first offense DUI can be the result of a mistake or poor judgment. However, if an officer pulls you over and charges you with a subsequent offense DUI, the legal system will seem much less forgiving.
The penalties for a second, third, or subsequent DUI are enough to throw anyone’s life off track for years to come. Because multiple offense DUI convictions carry much more strict and much more severe penalties and legal repercussions.
If this is a multiple or subsequent DUI offense, it is in your best interest to work with skilled Delaware DUI Defense Attorneys. We understand the complex and convoluted nature of Driving Under the Influence laws in Delaware. After your first, second, third, or subsequent DUI arrest, you should consult with a Delaware Repeat DUI Offender Lawyer. Call the Law Offices of Murray, Phillips & Gay at 302-855-9300. Or, email us.
Penalties For DUI Convictions In Delaware
When you are charged with multiple DUI offenses, the penalties will rise for every offense. While you might get off easy for your first DUI offense, your second, third, or even fourth or fifth offense will be gradually more strict.
12-month license suspension; up to 180 days in jail; fines, fees, court costs, attorneys fees. However, you may qualify for Delaware’s DUI First Offender Program. The State of Delaware can prosecute a First Offense DUI as a Felony DUI if a minor was in the car. However, felony DUIs do not qualify for Delaware’s First Offender Program.
24-month license suspension; mandatory 60 days in jail; fines, court costs, attorneys fees. However, the State of Delaware will prosecute Second Offense DUIs as a felony if there was bodily injury or property damage involved.
36-month license suspension; up to 24 months in jail; fines, fees, court costs, attorneys fees. Additionally, the State of Delaware prosecutes Third Offense DUIs as felonies. Lastly, additional penalties, jail time and fees may apply to a felony DUI offense.
How A Multiple DUI Defense Lawyer Can Help You
A DUI conviction has life-altering consequences. After a DUI arrest in Delaware, please contact an experienced Georgetown, Delaware Driving Under the Influence Defense Lawyer.
The sooner you take action to protect your rights by contacting a Delaware Drunk Driving Lawyer, the sooner he can begin working on your case. Your lawyer will investigate your charges and devise a strategy in which to minimize the penalties, reduce charges, or avoid a conviction altogether.
Call A Delaware Subsequent Offense DUI Lawyer
If you face your second, third, or subsequent DUI offense in Delaware, you should consult with a Delaware DUI Lawyer. Call the Law Offices of Murray, Phillips & Gay regarding your multiple DUI, DWI or Impaired Driving charges at 302-855-9300. Or, click here to email us.
Our Seaford Office is a satellite office and is open by appointment only
No Drop-offs or Payments