Misdemeanors may be classified as minor wrongdoings, but without proper representation, the charges can escalate quickly. Don’t wait. Get a lawyer with the Law Offices of Murray, Phillips & Gay to protect yourself from an arrest or charge.
While a number of crimes may be labeled misdemeanors, the charge can escalate with repeated offenses or severity of the crime. Don’t hesitate to get a lawyer if you face misdemeanor charges. You could end up paying large fines or even serving some jail time without proper legal representation.
Call 302-855-9300 to speak with a lawyer today about your arrest.
Misdemeanor Crimes in Delaware
- Criminal Impersonation,
- Public Intoxication,
- Criminal Mischief (including vandalism and destruction of property),
- Urinating in Public,
- Indecent Exposure,
- Lewd Contact,
- Offensive Touching,
- Disorderly Conduct,
- Simple Assault,
- Resisting Arrest.
This is not an exhaustive list of all misdemeanor crimes in Delaware. If you have been charged with ANY crime, you need a lawyer on your side. If you are charged with a crime, you should seek the advice of an experienced criminal defense lawyer.
Don’t wait for a simple traffic stop that turned into a resisting arrest charge to escalate into an assault charge or worse. Depending on the circumstances, some misdemeanors may be classified as felonies. Protect your rights with the help of an experienced attorney.
Adults and minors charged with misdemeanors may face different punishments. Know what consequences you face with a free consultation with experienced attorneys. Learn more below about the different classifications of Misdemeanors in Delaware.
Class A Misdemeanor
A class A misdemeanor is the most serious type of misdemeanor in Delaware, punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine up to $2,300. The court may also order the defendant to pay restitution (repayment for any medical expenses, property damage, or other costs incurred by others as a result of the defendant’s crime). (Del. Code tit. 11, § 4206.) Example: theft of property worth less than $1,500.
Class B Misdemeanors
Class B misdemeanors are punishable by up to six months in jail, a fine of up to $1,150, and restitution. (Del. Code tit. 11, § 4206.) Example: prostitution.
Being convicted of an unclassified misdemeanor can result in a term of up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $575. (Del. Code tit. 11, § 4206.) Example: possession or use of any amount of marijuana (even a small amount for strictly personal use).
Contact a Delaware Misdemeanor Defense Attorney
If you face a misdemeanor or criminal arrest, contact Attorneys Murray and Phillips. They will meet with you in person to discuss your situation. To schedule a free initial consultation, please call 302-855-9300 for our Georgetown, Delaware office or 302-422-9300 for our Milford office or 302-628-9300 for our Seaford office, Delaware offices or contact our law offices online.