Georgetown Simple Assault Defense Attorney
There are times when a situation becomes heated and things get out of hand. A domestic violence incident or other physical altercation may last only a few seconds, but it can lead to criminal charges. If you are charged with assault in Delaware, it is important to seek the advice of a reputable, successful criminal defense attorney.
Strong Defense for Those Accused of Violent Acts
At the Law Offices of Murray, Phillips & Gay, we have more than 20 years of experience defending those charged with simple assault and related misdemeanor violent crimes. Mr. Phillips and Ms. Murray handle each case themselves; you will not be passed off to an inexperienced associate or a non-lawyer staff member. We provide each client personal attention, learn the details of what happened and build a strong defense.
To arrange a free initial consultation with an experienced Georgetown, Dover or Wilmington simple assault defense lawyer, please call 302-855-9300. You can contact our law firm online.
Minimizing the Consequences
We understand that a criminal conviction is greatly disruptive to everyday life. There are usually fines, attorney’s fees and possibly a jail sentence. Beyond that, an assault conviction carries a stigma that can be very damaging to your reputation and to your future. We work hard to get charges reduced and even dropped when possible. When that is not an option, we strongly assert our clients’ rights in the courtroom.
There are multiple levels of assault charges in Delaware, including:
- Third-degree assault, which is a Class A misdemeanor
- Second-degree assault, which is a Class D felony
- First-degree assault, which is a Class B felony
The aggressiveness of your charges for Simple Assault will vary based on the amount of damage the victim has and whether or not you used a weapon. For third-degree simple assault, you face up to 1 year in jail and a fine up to $2,300. For second-degree simple assault, you face bail between $2,500-$10,00 and up to 8 years in jail. For first-degree simple assault, you face bail between $20,000-$60,000 and between 2-25 years in jail.
In order to avoid or at least minimize the harsh penalties that come with an assault conviction, it is essential to work with a lawyer who knows the law in depth and who can give you an honest assessment of your options. We are that kind of lawyers.
Contact an Assault and Battery Defense Lawyer
If you have been arrested or charged with assault, and need honest answers, realistic options, and practical solutions, we are ready to meet with you. To schedule a free initial consultation, please call 302-855-9300. You can contact our law firm online.