Holiday Season DUI’s
The holiday party season is after Thanksgiving through Christmas and the New Year. Many of us will be partying with our family, friends, and co-workers. Most of those parties will include adult beverages, and we think we know our limits. “I can have a couple of drinks, and I’m not slurring my words or stumbling. Therefore, I’m good to go.” As this group of people learned in this Today News clip, it is easy to underestimate the amount you drank and overestimate your driving ability.
While attending holiday parties, simply not drinking and driving is the safest strategy for avoiding a Delaware DUI. Anyone planning to drink during this season should also arrange a designated driver or a Lyft/Uber.
The message should be clear – Even when you have just one drink, you can be physically impaired, and so is your judgment. If you are planning on driving, don’t drink at all. As the holidays approach, police step up DUI patrols and DUI checkpoints. With the extra police presence, you can easily be charged with a DUI.
Those who drink and get behind the wheel face a potential litany of legal troubles. A driver caught with a blood-alcohol level of 0.08 or above is guilty of driving under the influence in all 50 states. Punishment for drunk driving varies by state, but in most cases, it will involve a fine and suspension or revocation of driving privileges.
Charges in Delaware
In Delaware, you could face the following charges:
First Offense: 0-12 months prison, $500-$1,500 fine, license suspended 12-24 months.
Second Offense: 2-18 months prison, $750-$2,500 fine, license suspended 24-30 months.
Third Offense: 1-2 years prison, $1,500-$5,000 fine, license suspended 24-36 months.
Fourth Offense: 2-5 years prison, $3,000-$7,000 fine, license suspended for 60 months.
Fifth Offense: 3-5 years prison, $3,500-$10,000 fine, license suspended 60 months, class E felony.
Sixth Offense: 5-8 years prison, $5,000-$10,000 fine, license suspended 60 months, class D felony.
Seventh Offense: 10-15 years prison, $10,000-$15,000 fine, license suspended 60 months, class C felony.
Contact a Kent or Sussex County, Delaware Attorney
If you have been charged with Driving Under the Influence, Ronald D. Phillips, Jr. of the Law Offices of Murray, Phillips & Gay would like to meet with you to discuss your case. To schedule a free initial consultation, please call 302-855-9300 or fill out this contact form.
Tags: Attorneys, criminal defense, criminal law, Delaware, delaware dui, DUI, Georgetown, Sussex County