Alcohol and Drug Use on Prom Night
Vehicle accidents are the number one cause of death for young people aged 12 to 19. Prom night can be a dangerous time with so many teens on the road late at night. Approximately 1,000 youth under age 21 die each year in preventable tragedies while celebrating their high school proms and graduations (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).
While spring is the hallmark of many teen celebrations (graduation and prom), it can also be a very dangerous time in a teen’s life.
According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, the months of April through June are some of the most dangerous times of the year for teens. Approximately one-third of alcohol-related traffic fatalities involving teens occur between these months. -RAYCHELLE LOHMANN
Parents, please make sure your teen knows to not get behind the wheel if they have been drinking and not to get in the car with someone who has been.
In Delaware, you must be 21 years of age to legally purchase and consume alcoholic beverages just like
the rest of the United States. The legal limit for Blood Alcohol Content while operating an automobile is .08%, again just like the rest of the country. However, if you are under 21 years old and are caught drinking and driving you should know that Delaware has very strict mandatory laws for those under 21. These penalties are fines, fees, and license suspension. In addition, if you are enrolling in one of the many colleges or universities in Delaware you may also be subject to the school or institution’s administrative penalties.
JUVENILE DRUNK DRIVING DEFENSE IN DELAWARE
Once convicted of an Underage Driving Under The Influence charge in Delaware the penalties are mandatory and non-negotiable. A very sound strategy may be attempting to have your case dismissed for various reasons. A Juvenile DUI charge can be dismissed for several reasons such as determining whether or not there was probable cause to stop the driver, determining if the breathalyzer test was not properly administered or calibrated and was there enough evidence to charge the juvenile with a DUI. There are many other possible ways to dismiss the case. A qualified Delaware Underage DUI Lawyer can help with this.
If you have a child who has been accused of underage drinking or DUI, we would like to meet with you and your child in person to discuss your case. To schedule a free initial consultation at our office in Georgetown, please call 302-855-9300 for our Dover or Wilmington office, please call 302-697-2499 or contact us by clicking here.